
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Answers to common questions about the 60-day exemption from pesticide applicator licensing in 
Nebraska 

 
The Nebraska Department of Agriculture (NDA) administers the Nebraska Pesticide Act (the Act), which 
regulates the use of pesticides in the state. 
 
According to the Act, an individual who applies restricted-use pesticides to the land of another person for 
hire or compensation shall apply to NDA for a commercial applicator license issued for the categories and 
subcategories in which the pesticide application is to be made. Commercial applicator licenses also are 
required for persons applying general-use pesticides to the land of another person for hire or 
compensation in the Ornamental and Turf (04) and Structural Health (08) categories. Additionally, 
certification is required for individuals conducting outdoor vector control applications which fall under the 
Public Health (09) category.  
 
A special provision to this requirement, called 'the 60-day rule' allows an individual to commercially apply 
pesticides without being certified. This is of great benefit to employers who desire to put new employees 
to work while commercial or non-commercial certification and licensing is being pursued. This special 
provision is allowed only in situations where a supervising certified pesticide applicator assumes 
the responsibilities of training and providing a safe work environment for the noncertified 
applicator.  
 
The 60-day provision is viewed as a training/mentoring period. The two basic requirements of the 60-day 
provision are: 
• The noncertified applicator agrees to work under the direct supervision of a certified applicator; and 
 
• There is a certified pesticide applicator who will assume the responsibility of providing direct 

supervision (with documentation) to the noncertified applicator. 
 

Under this provision, “both the certified and noncertified applicators shall be responsible for the acts of the 
noncertified applicator and each shall be subject to all penalties and violations under the pesticide Act.” 
 
NDA will grant a temporary exemption to a pesticide applicator, as long as the following 
conditions are met: 
 
 1. The person requesting a 60-day exemption from NDA will work “under the direct supervision of a 

certified pesticide applicator.”  
 
The person must be at least 16 years of age and have never possessed a private, commercial, or 
non-commercial license. 
 

The 60-Day Rule: 
Temporary Exemption 
from Licensing 



The 60-day exemption allows a person to perform most of the duties of a certified applicator; 
however, only when under the direct supervision of a certified applicator. The noncertified applicator 
is not permitted to operate “on their own,” until they acquire their own pesticide applicator's license. 
 

 2. A person with a current, valid pesticide applicator's license assumes the responsibilities to provide 
“direct supervision,” which means they provide such training and supervision as is necessary to: 

 
a. Determine the level of experience and knowledge of the noncertified applicator in the use of a 

pesticide.  
 
This means that, for each pesticide product and/or application technique, the supervising 
applicator must assess the noncertified applicator's knowledge and skills. 
 

b. Provide verifiable, detailed guidance on how to conduct each individual pesticide use performed 
under his or her direct supervision.  
 
Documentation shall include a written outline of training or set of instructions that adequately 
informs the noncertified applicator about the basic responsibilities of his or her duties. Training is 
to include equipment calibration, PPE, and label directions for use. 

 
 
 
 
 

c. Accompany the noncertified applicator to at least one site which would be typical of each type of 
pesticide use that the noncertified applicator performs.  
 

 This is where on-the-job training comes together with the direct supervision required of the 
supervising certified applicator, assuring that the noncertified applicator truly understands the 
pesticide application training provided to that point. 

 
d. Be able to be physically on the site, should the need arise, where the pesticide use or storage is 

taking place within a reasonable period of time.  
 

 It is expected that the supervising applicator is available 'ON CALL' and is available to step into 
any work situation, such as an emergency, when the need arises. 

 

e. Be accessible to provide further instructions at all times during the noncertified applicator's use of 
the pesticide. 
 
After the training is completed and the supervising applicator is assured the noncertified 
applicator can satisfactorily perform the work, the supervising applicator does not need to be 
physically present at each site where the noncertified applicator is working. The noncertified 
applicator must be able to contact the supervisor by phone or two-way radio. Use of answering 
machines or pagers will not be deemed adequate contact. 

 
Any person desiring to operate under the 60-day provision, or his or her employer, shall fill out an 
application form requesting a temporary exemption for applying pesticides. 
 
An application form shall be filled out and submitted to NDA within 10 days of the first pesticide 
use, which requires an applicator's license. The name and certification number of the supervising 
pesticide applicator shall be provided on the application form. 
 
 
 

60-Day Verification of Training forms can be found 
online at: 1.usa.gov/UoSETX 

 

Application forms for the 60-Day exemption from 
licensing can be found online at: 

bit.ly/wf60KYl 

  

http://www.agr.ne.gov/pesticide/training_verification.pdf
http://www.nda.nebraska.gov/forms/89.pdf


The 60-day term begins on the date of the first pesticide application made under the exemption. The term 
runs for a period of 60 consecutive days. The exemption is provided as a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity 
for one person to work under another person's license.  
 
An approval letter will be sent to the noncertified applicator that must be carried by the applicator in lieu of 
a license. 
 
It is expected that persons operating under a 60-day exemption will acquire the training materials 
provided from the University of Nebraska Cooperative Extension Service and complete the examinations 
required to become fully certified in the pest control categories in which they desire to apply pesticides. 
 
To order study materials or register for training online go to: pested.unl.edu 
 
Commercial and non-commercial applicators must complete and pass (70%) a General Standards 
exam and a category-specific exam for each category in which they desire to become certified. A 
schedule of exam dates and locations is available online at: bit.ly/vtxWqq 

 
 
 
 

 
Please see the following brochures for related information at bit.ly/pdsloZ: 

• Pesticide Applicator Certification and Training 
• Which Pesticide Applicator License Do I Need? 
• The Pesticide Enforcement Process  
 
  

 Nebraska Department of Agriculture 
 Animal and Plant Health Protection 

 P.O. Box 94756 
 Lincoln, NE 68509-4756 

 877-800-4080 or (402) 471-2351 
 www.agr.ne.gov/pesticide 

A list of the category descriptions can be found online at:  
bit.ly/A8Zt7z  
 

http://pested.unl.edu/
http://www.nda.nebraska.gov/pesticide/applicator_testing.html
http://www.nda.nebraska.gov/pesticide/index.html
http://www.nda.nebraska.gov/pesticide/applicator_certification.pdf
http://www.nda.nebraska.gov/pesticide/license_info.pdf
http://www.nda.nebraska.gov/pesticide/enforcement_process.pdf
http://www.nda.nebraska.gov/pesticide
http://www.agr.ne.gov/pesticide/categories.pdf
http://www.nda.nebraska.gov/pesticide/categories.pdf
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