All individuals who use the following pesticides in Nebraska must hold a pesticide applicator license issued from the Nebraska Department of Agriculture (NDA):
Eligibility, for individuals holding licenses from states/agencies, other than those NDA has formed reciprocal agreements with, will be determined on a case-by-case basis.
A person requesting a reciprocal license from Nebraska must have successfully completed all certification requirements (exams and/or recertification training) in the state whose license will be the basis for a reciprocal license.
To become licensed in Nebraska through a reciprocal agreement, an individual must:
At this time, Nebraska law does not require proof of insurance or proof of financial responsibility from those requesting a reciprocal license.
NDA does not issue business licenses, except for commercial ag pilots. All pesticide applicator licenses for ag pilots must be tied to a specific business license. All aerial points of departure must be identified.
NDA does not issue apprentice level licenses. All licenses issued by Nebraska allow a person to both use RUP products and supervise their use. The Nebraska Pesticide Act does allow a person to use pesticides under the direct supervision of a fully licensed individual for 60 days (once-in-a-lifetime). The unlicensed person must request this status from NDA, providing the name and license number of the qualified supervisor. The supervisor must provide training and keep records of the training conducted. For additional information, please refer to NDA brochure entitled, "The 60-Day Rule."
NDA's commercial/non-commercial pesticide applicator categories are:
An application form for a reciprocal license may be printed here.
1 Ag Plant 1a Soil Fumigation 2 Ag Animal 3 Forest Pest Control 4 Ornamental & Turf 5 Aquatic pest control 5S Sewer Root Control 6 Seed Treatment 7 Right-of-Way 8 Structural 8W Wood Destroying Organisms 9 Public Health 10 Wood Preservation 11 Fumigation 12 Aerial 14 Wildlife Damage Control D/R Demonstration & Research REG Regulatory pest control
A chart which compares the commercial categories of Nebraska with reciprocating states can be viewed here.
Requests for reciprocal licenses may be faxed to NDA at 402-471-6892.
To renew a NDA reciprocal license, first complete all requirements for renewing your license from your state of residency then based on that license, go through the same process as you did for your initial reciprocal license from Nebraska. It is your responsibility to notify us for renewal of your license.
Individuals who move to Nebraska after having been issued a reciprocal license must take and pass the required NDA exams to convert their license to a full Nebraska license.
For additional information about Nebraska pesticide certification program, refer here, or call 877-800-4080.
Persons who reside in Iowa, South Dakota, or Wyoming who own or rent ground in Nebraska for farming may apply RUPs on those sites using a private applicator license issued from their state of residence.
Persons who reside in Colorado, Kansas, or Missouri who own or rent ground in Nebraska for farming must request a private applicator license from NDA. Simply complete an NDA license request form and submit with a photocopy of your private applicator license from your state of residence and the required $25 licensing fee.