Fertilizer Tonnage Summaries
Firm Licensing Requirements
If you manufacture, label, or distribute commercial fertilizer or soil conditioners in Nebraska, you are required to license each manufacturing and/or distribution facility in the state. If you do not have an in-state facility, you are required to license your principal out-of-state office.
The licensing fee is $15 annually per each facility. The license fee is due January 1st and expires December 31st. Once your firm is licensed, our Department will send you an annual renewal notice in mid-November. If your address or contact information has changed, please notify our office of updates.
License fees may be paid online here.
Inspection Fee Requirements
An inspection fee of $0.10/ton on all commercial fertilizer is due semi-annually. The firm distributing the product to the ultimate user is responsible for the fee. The forms are mailed in June and December and are due no later than the last day of January and July each year. Fees due but not paid by January 31 and July 31 shall have a penalty of 25% of the fees due added to the payment if paid during February or August, respectively, and an additional 25% thereafter.
There is a minimum payment of $5 for each period ONLY if tonnage is reported. If less than 50 tons is reported for the period the payment is $5. If no tonnage is reported, then no payment is due.
A complete list of fertilizer codes for use when reporting fertilizer tonnage is available for downloading.
The Nebraska Department of Agriculture does not register fertilizer products. We do, however, register soil conditioner products. For fertilizer products we ask that you license your firm and send our Department labels for new fertilizer products and revisions to existing labels. We review the labels and notify you if changes are required.
There is no fee for registering a soil conditioner product; however, before you manufacture or distribute a fertilizer or soil conditioner product, you must license your firm (see Firm Licensing Requirements). To register a soil conditioner product, download the application and return it with a copy of your label to our office.
Inspection FeeAn inspection fee of $0.10/ton on all agriculture liming materials is due semi-annually. The forms are mailed in June and December and are due no later than the last day of January and July each year. Fees due but not paid by January 31 and July 31 shall have a penalty of 25% of the fees due added to the payment if paid during February or August, respectively, and an additional 25% thereafter. In the case of lime slurry, the fee shall be paid on the base lime material only.
Every manufacturer, distributor, or retailer of agriculture liming materials to be distributed in Nebraska is required to obtain a license for their distribution facility. The licensing fee is $5 annually. The license fee is due January 1st and expires December 31st. Once your firm is licensed, our Department will send you an annual renewal notice in mid-November. If your address or any other information has changed, you should correct it on the renewal notice.
License fees may be paid online here.
Product Registration Requirements
Each separately identified agriculture liming material shall be registered before being distributed in Nebraska. The firm/person who first causes the distribution into or within Nebraska shall be responsible for registering the product. The application for registration will be furnished by the Department of Agriculture. Agriculture lime slurry, as defined in section 2-4316 of the Agricultural Liming Materials Act, shall be exempt from the registration requirements.
To register an agriculture lime material, download the application and return it to our office.