TITLE 23 - DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE, BUREAU OF ANIMAL INDUSTRY

Chapter 11 - LIVESTOCK DEALER REGULATIONS

001 Statement of Purpose. These regulations are adopted to aid in
carrying out the legislative intent and general purposes of the
Nebraska Livestock Dealer Licensing Act (Neb. Rev. Stat. 854-1701, et.
seq.) the "Act."

002 Definitions.

002.01 ACCOUNT OF SALE shall mean a receipt given to the
consignor or seller of livestock.

002.02 VS FORM 1-27 is a permit authorizing the movement of
diseased or exposed animals, which form shall be issued only by
an approved veterinarian or authorized regulatory personnel.

002.03 ANIMAL shall mean any animal, including poultry, other
than man but shall exclude fish and reptiles.

002.04 APPROVED EARTAG shall mean a metal identification tag
approved by the U.S. Department of Agriculture or the State of
Nebraska which shall be placed in the ear to identify officially
tested animals.

002.05 APPROVED VETERINARIAN shall mean any accredited
veterinarian approved, designated, or certified by the State
Veterinarian or Director of Agriculture to perform all required
inspections and duties under the disease control laws and
regulations.

002.06 BUREAU shall mean the Bureau of Animal Industry of the
Department of Agriculture.

002.07 BRUCELLOSIS EXPOSED ANIMALS shall mean animals that are
part of a known infected herd or have been in contact with a
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brucellosis reactor in marketing channels for periods of not less
than twenty-four (24) hours, or periods of less than

twenty-four (24) hours if the reactor has recently aborted,
calved, or had a vaginal or uterine discharge.

002.08 QUALIFIED PSEUDORABIES NEGATIVE HERD shall mean a herd
meeting the following criteria:

Qualified pseudorabies negative herd status i1s attained by
subjecting all swine over 6 months of age to an official
pseudorabies test and finding all swine so tested negative. If
any of the swine so tested are positive, qualified pseudorabies
negative herd status iIs attained by: (1) removing all official
pseudorabies test positive swine and cleaning and disinfecting
the herd premises; (2) retesting all swine over 6 months of age
30 days after removal of the official pseudorabies test positive
swine and finding all swine so tested negative, and (3) retesting
all swine over 6 months of age 60 days after removal of the
official pseudorabies test positive swine and finding all swine
so tested negative. The status of the herd is maintained by an
official pseudorabies test of 25 percent of the swine over

6 months of age every 80-105 days and finding all swine so tested
negative. All swine over 6 months of age in the herd shall be
subjected to the official pseudorabies test each year. However,
no swine over 6 months of age in the herd are to be tested twice
in 1 year to comply with the 25 percent requirement. A minimum
of 90 percent of the swine must have been on the premises and
part of the herd for at least 90 days prior to the qualifying
test or have entered directly from another qualified pseudorabies
negative herd. All additions to the herd must test negative on
two official pseudorabies tests not less than 30 days or more
than 60 days apart before being added to the herd or be from
another qualified pseudorabies negative herd.

002.09 PSEUDORABIES CONTROLLED VACCINATED HERD shall mean a herd
meeting the following criteria:

A herd of swine in which all of the swine over 6 months of age
are negative to an official pseudorabies test and are vaccinated
for pseudorabies within 15 days after such test. The status of
the herd i1s maintained by an official pseudorabies test of

25 percent of the offspring between 16 and 20 weeks of age and
finding all swine so tested negative. All additions to the herd
must test negative to an official pseudorabies test, be
vaccinated for pseudorabies within 15 days after such test, and
be added to the herd not more than 30 days after such test.
Pseudorabies controlled vaccinated herds that become positive can
be reclassified as a pseudorabies controlled vaccinated herd by
(1) testing of all swine over 6 months of age; (2) removal of all
swine which are positive to an official pseudorabies test; (3)
cleaning and disinfecting the herd premises; (4) retesting all
swine over 6 months of age 30 days after removal of the swine
which are positive to an official pseudorabies test and finding
all swine so tested negative; (5) retesting all swine over
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6 months of age 60 days after removal of the swine which are
positive to an official pseudorabies test and finding all swine
so tested negative; and (6) vaccinating all swine over 6 months
of age for pseudorabies within 15 days of the second negative
test.

002.010 CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP TEST shall mean an official
brucellosis test performed on all market test cattle.

002.11 HERD TEST for cattle shall mean an official brucellosis
test of all eligible cattle in the herd. Eligible cattle shall
include those over six (6) months of age except steers, spayed
heifers, official vaccinates under eighteen (18) months of age.

002.012 EXPOSED ANIMALS shall mean those that have been in
contact with any diseased animals. Such term shall also mean
those animals that have been In contact with other exposed
animals as defined in this subdivision. Brucellosis exposed
animals are as defined In 23 NAC 11-002.07, above.

002.013 FORM A-237 is a health certificate or examination form
of the Bureau, which form shall be issued only by an approved
veterinarian, after establishing the health status and performing
the required tests on the involved animals.

002.014 FORM NBAI-16 is a health certificate or examination form
of the Bureau, which form shall be issued only by an approved
veterinarian, after establishing the health status and performing
the required tests on the involved animals.

002.015 FORM A-276A is the "Quarantine of Animals'™ form which
prohibits or restricts the movement of animals.

002.016 FORM A-276B is a "Brucellosis Quarantine of Cattle"™ form
which prohibits or restricts the movement of cattle affected
with, exposed to, or suspected of having, brucellosis.

002.017 FORM A-277 is a "Quarantine of Premises, Vehicles, and
Equipment” form which shall be issued to prohibit the use or
occupation of such premises, vehicles, and equipment when
provided by the animal disease control laws and the regulations
thereunder.

002.018 FORM NB-52 is a form for reporting backtags applied.

002.019 FORM NSD-12 i1s a Shipper®s Declaration form furnished by
the Bureau which authorizes the release of livestock of unknown
brucellosis status to immediate slaughter or to a licensed market
for resale to immediate slaughter. The form shall be issued by
market personnel and signed by the buyer or his agent. One copy
of the form shall accompany the animals to slaughter or to the
market.
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002.020 FORM B-4 i1s a form for recording official brucellosis
testing.

002.021 HERD shall mean a group of animals of like species
maintained on common ground for any purpose, or two or more
groups of animals under common ownership or supervision on

separate premises which have an interchange of animals.

002.022 IMMEDIATE SLAUGHTER shall mean delivered to an
officially inspected slaughter establishment or to a licensed
market within seven (7) days of removal from farm of origin or
following the date of sale through any market.

002.023 QUARANTINE FACILITY shall mean any enclosure sufficient
to prevent animals so enclosed from coming into physical contact
with any other animals.

002.024 MCI1 TAG shall mean an official backtag prescribed by the
U.S. Department of Agriculture for identifying livestock moving
in commerce. After an animal has been tested for brucellosis,
the MCI tag shall be painted yellow with spray paint or a paint
stick In such a manner that the tag number is still readable.

002.025 MARKET shall include both Livestock Auction Market as
defined in the Nebraska Auction Market Development Act and
Livestock Market as defined in the Nebraska Livestock Market Act.

002.026 MARKET CATTLE TEST shall mean an official brucellosis
test of market test cattle moving In trade through markets,
through livestock dealer concentration points, at slaughtering
establishments, or on the farm of origin within 30 days prior to
sale or movement.

002.027 MARKET TEST CATTLE shall mean:

002.027A Females, unless spayed, and bulls over
twenty-four months of age, and

002.027B Bred heifers over eighteen months of age unless
they are official calfhood vaccinates and not parturient or
post parturient.

002.028 OFFICIAL VACCINATE shall mean an animal conforming to
the following provisions:

002.028A A calfhood vaccinated animal shall mean an animal
between 2 and 4 months of age that has been vaccinated with
a standard dosage of Brucella Strain 19 Vaccine, or an
animal between 4 and 12 months of age that has been
vaccinated with a diluted dosage of said vaccine in
accordance with the procedure set out below:

002.028A1 Store unreconstituted vaccine at 4°c
(38°~40°F).
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002.028A2 Non-pyrogenic sterile water may be used if
regular diluent is not available.
002.028A3 Dilute the vaccine by the following manner:
002.028A3a Reconstitute a dose of standard
vaccine as recommended by manufacturer.
002.028A3b Mix the standard vaccine with the
diluent according to the following table:
Standard Diluted Diluted
Vaccine Diluent Vaccine Doses
1.25 cc + 23.75 cc = 25 cc or 12.5
2.50 cc + 47.50 cc = 50 cc or 25

5.00 cc + 95.00 cc 100 cc or 50
002.028A3c Mix thoroughly and administer a 2 cc
dose subcutaneously.

002.028A4 Reconstituted vaccine should be used within
1 hour. Surplus prepared vaccine should be
inactivated by mixing disinfectant with vaccine or by
autoclaving.

002.028B Calfhood vaccinated animals shall be permanently
identified as vaccinates by tattoo and by official
vaccination eartag, or by any other form of identification
approved by the Bureau. Vaccination tattoos must be
applied to the right ear. The tattoo will include the U.S.
Registered Shield and V, which will be preceded by a number
indicating the quarter of the year and will be followed by
a number corresponding to the last digit of the year in
which the vaccination was done. Official vaccination
eartags shall be applied to the right ear. The eartag will
include the State prefix and a V, followed by 2 letters and
4 numbers which will individually i1dentify such vaccinated
animal. Individual animal registration tattoos may be
substituted for official eartags.

002.29 Class Free State shall mean a state so classified by the
United States Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health
Inspection Service, based upon the incidence of brucellosis
infection existing In said state. A state classified partially
as one class and partially as a lower class shall, for the
purposes of this rule, be deemed to be of the lower of the

two classes.

002.30 Class A State shall mean a state so classified by the
United States Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health
Inspection Service, based upon the incidence of brucellosis
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infection existing In said state. A state classified partially
as one class and partially as a lower class shall, for the
purposes of this rule, be deemed to be of the lower of the

two classes.

002.31 Class B State shall mean a state so classified by the
United States Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health
Inspection Service, based upon the incidence of brucellosis
infection existing In said state. A state classified partially
as one class and partially as a lower class shall, for the
purposes of this rule, be deemed to be of the lower of the

two classes.

002.32 Class C State shall mean a state so classified by the
United States Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health
Inspection Service, based upon the incidence of brucellosis
infection existing In said state. A state classified partially
as one class and partially as a lower class shall, for the
purposes of this rule, be deemed to be of the lower of the

two classes.

002.33 Test-eligible cattle shall mean all cattle over 18 months
of age (as evidenced by the loss of the middle pair of temporary
incisor teeth) except steers, spayed heifers, official vaccinates
of the dairy breeds under 20 months of age, and official
vaccinates of the beef breeds under 24 months of age (as
evidenced by the presence of the middle pair of permanent Incisor
teeth) which are not parturient (springers) or postparturient.

003 State Veterinarian"s Office. The office of the State
Veterinarian is located on the fourth floor of State Office Building,
301 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, Nebraska. The mailing address is
P.O. Box 94787, Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4787. The telephone number is
(402) 471-2351.

004 Licensing. Persons wishing to make application for a livestock
dealer license may do so on forms furnished by the State
Veterinarian®s office. Application for the annual renewal of an
existing license may also be made on forms furnished by said office.

005 Agents. The identification of each agent for a licensed dealer
shall be set out on the dealer"s license application. The failure to
disclose an agent®s identification on the application shall be just
cause for suspension of the license. Persons i1dentified as agents
will be issued identification cards to be carried when the agent is
engaged in business as a dealer"s agent.

006 Bonding.

006.01 Dealers registered and bonded under the Packers and
Stockyards Act shall annually file a statement with the office of
the State Veterinarian verifying the maintenance of a valid and
effective bond. The statement shall accompany the initial
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007

license application or annual renewal thereof, and shall be on a
form furnished by the State Veterinarian®s office.

006.02 Dealers not registered and bonded under the Packers and
Stockyards Act shall annually furnish a fully executed duplicate
of a valid and effective bond In an amount equal to that which
would be required if the person were registered and bonded under
said act. Said amount is determined based upon the volume of
business done during the preceding fiscal year, but shall not be
less than $5,000.00. Said duplicate shall accompany the initial
license application or the annual renewal thereof.

Recordkeeping.

008

007.01 Each livestock dealer shall keep complete records of all
business transactions concerning livestock handled by him. Such
records shall contain the following information:

007.01A The names and addresses of all persons who have
purchased, sold, consigned, or taken consignment of
livestock;

007.01B The dates of all purchases, sales and deliveries
of livestock; and

007.01C A description of the livestock.

007.02 All records shall be kept for a period of at least two
years.

Facilities. Livestock dealers utilizing concentration points in

the course of their business shall specifically describe such facility
on their license applications, and shall see that such facilities
continually meet the following requirements:

008.01 Concentration points shall be maintained in a continual
state of good repair;

008.02 All areas of the concentration point used for holding,
sorting, testing or otherwise handling livestock shall be cleaned
and disinfected under the supervision of the approved
veterinarian, when necessary. Such activities shall be reported
to the office of the State Veterinarian on forms provided by said
office;

008.03 All concentration points shall be equipped with
quarantine pens to be used for handling diseased livestock and
livestock suspected of being diseased. After being used as a
quarantine pen, such a pen shall be used for no other purpose
until it has been cleaned and disinfected under the supervision
of the certified veterinarian.
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009

008.04 All concentration points shall be equipped with paved
areas for assembling, sorting, testing or other handling of
feeding and breeding swine, If such swine are handled by the
market. Such areas are to be cleaned after each use for feeding
or breeding swine; and

008.05 All concentration points shall be equipped with suitable
and sufficient paved areas for restraining and confining
livestock for regulatory purposes.

Inspection and Handling of Livestock.

009.01 Approved Veterinarian. The release of livestock from a
concentration point shall be handled by the approved veterinarian
who shall insure all such livestock conform to the requirements
of the animal disease control laws and regulations of this state.
The approved veterinarian shall inspect all such livestock prior
to sale, and shall reject or detain at the owner"s expense, all
such livestock found or suspected by him to be diseased or
exposed to disease. In addition, he shall:

009.01A Perform the collection of blood samples from all
market test animals;

009.01B Perform the official market test on all blood
samples prior to the release of any animal;

009.01C Complete the application and recording of all
eartag numbers, backtag numbers, and test results on the
official test chart;

009.01D Promptly mail all blood samples and test charts to
the State-Federal Brucellosis Laboratory;

009.01E Issue the following release forms and distribute
copies as required thereon:

009.01E1 VS Form 1-27;
009.01E2 Form A-237;
009.01E3 Form A-276B; and
009.01E4 Form A-276A; and

009.01F Furnish the purchaser upon request with
documentation of completed official tests.

009.02 Release of Cattle.

009.02A All market test cattle offered for sale, bartered,
or sold through a market or dealer concentration point
shall at the time received be i1dentified by a backtag
affixed a few inches from midline and just behind either
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shoulder, and shall be tested as provided below, except for
the following situations:

009.02A1 Cattle consigned or sold directly from
certified brucellosis free herds and accompanied by
written proof of such herd status; Provided, such
cattle may be yarded separately to maintain their
identity and status; and Provided further, that the
identity and status shall be maintained until release;

009.02A2 Cattle found to be negative by an official
brucellosis test conducted within thirty (30) days
prior to sale; Provided, that such animals shall have
been individually identified by approved eartag or
tattoo and accompanied by an official test record or
health certificate showing the identification and test
results of each animal, or shall have been i1dentified
by an approved eartag and backtag within thirty

(30) days prior to sale; and provided further that the
identity and negative status of such animals shall be
maintained until release; and

009.02B All untested market test cattle, except as
excluded above, shall move from the dealer concentration
point to immediate slaughter. Backtagged market test
cattle sold for shipment to immediate slaughter shall be
released on a Shipper®s Declaration (Form NSD-12).

009.02C Backtagged market test cattle sold for other than
immediate slaughter shall be tested negative for
brucellosis by the approved veterinarian prior to release.

009.02D Official Market Testing release requirements are
as follows:

009.02Dl1la Animals tested at the concentration point
at private expense prior to sale;

009.02D1b All tests prior to sale shall be made iIn
the name of the seller or consignor. Each tested
animal shall be identified by official eartag and
backtag. Negative animals from tested consignments
wherein reactors are disclosed shall be either sent to
immediate slaughter with VS Form 1-27 or returned to
the farm of origin with quarantine for official
program testing. |If reactors are disclosed in
consignments from other states, the entire consignment
shall be sold for immediate slaughter provided, the
negative animals may be returned to state of origin
with permission 9, Code of Federal Regulations,

Part 78.
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009.02D2a Tests conducted after sale at private
expense on backtagged cattle not sold for immediate
slaughter:

009.02D2b The Mot of each purchaser shall be tested
in his name, and tested animals shall be individually
identified by official eartag and backtag. Reactors
shall be tagged, branded, and shipped to immediate
slaughter. Exposed animals tested negative from the
lot of a seller where any reactor has been disclosed
by test shall be sent to immediate slaughter with

VS Form 1-27, and be either "S" branded or moved iIn
sealed trucks.

009.02E Reactors, suspects or exposed animals consigned
for sale shall move 1In commerce accompanied by a VS Form 1-
27. Such animals shall be released only for immediate
slaughter.

009.02F All market test cattle from Class Band C states
shall be brucellosis tested prior to sale. A negative test
within the previous thirty (30) days i1s acceptable i1f the
test information is on the health certificate or test chart
accompanying the animals. Cattle released to a farm or
ranch shall be quarantined by the market veterinarian to
the farm or ranch. The quarantine shall be released
following a negative test conducted within 45 to 120 days
following issuance of the quarantine. Cattle released to a
dealer or another market shall be accompanied by a health
certificate. The health certificate shall state that the
cattle will be quarantined for a retest upon being resold
by the market or dealer. Cattle released to slaughter
shall be released on a NSD-12 (Shippers Declaration).

009.03 Release of Swine.

10

009.03A Feeding and breeding swine may move through a
dealer concentration point, subject to the following
requirements:

009.03A1 Such swine, originating in Nebraska, shall
have been confined on the premises of origin for not
less than thirty (30) continuous days preceding the

movement through the concentration point.

009.03A2 Swine infected with, exposed to, or
suspected of having been exposed to any dangerous,
infectious, contagious, communicable or otherwise
transmissible disease shall be returned to the
premises of the owner or moved to immediate slaughter.
Swine affected with atrophic rhinitis or chronic
arthritis and all swine originating in the same
consignment, shall be identified by a yellow water
resistant marking over or along the back.
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009.03A3 Swine released from a concentration point
shall be confined on the premises of the purchaser for
thirty (30) days separate from all other swine, except
when moved directly out of Nebraska pursuant to the
import requirements of the state of destination.

009.03B Slaughter swine, except garbage-fed swine, may
move through a concentration point, subject to the
following requirements:

009.03B1 Native swine shall be moved directly to
slaughter establishment, market, or dealer
concentration point providing for state or federal
inspection.

009.03B2 Swine originating in other states shall
follow the import laws and regulations of this state.

009.03C Garbage-fed slaughter swine shall move to
immediate slaughter.

009.04 Requirements for Release of Sheep.

009.04A Scabies. Sheep may move from a market or dealer
concentration point, Provided:

009.04A1 They are consigned for immediate slaughter;
or

009.04A2 They originate from a scabies free area,
show no evidence of scabies, and have not been exposed
thereto; or

009.04A3 They are from a non-quarantined flock or
band in a federally designated scabies infected or
eradication area, and treated within ten (10) days of
movement with an approved pesticide under supervision
of an approved veterinarian.

009.04B Ram Epididymitis. Breeding bucks shall be
individually examined prior to sale, and shall be free of
gross lesions of ram epididymitis.

009.04C Contagious Ecthyma (Sore Mouth). All sheep
affected with, or exposed to, contagious ecthyma shall be
immediately removed from the concentration point and
returned under quarantine to the premises of the seller or
consignor.

010 Official Testing - Cattle Brucellosis

010.01 Except as provided in 23 NAC 11-010.01A and B, below, all
market test cattle are sold or bartered through a dealer

11
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concentration point shall be brucellosis tested in the manner
prescribed below. The exceptions are as follows:

010.01A Cattle sold to immediate slaughter need not be
tested and;

010.01B Cattle purchased by the dealer from farms, ranches
and feedlots may be purchased without a negative test if
they are properly identified as prescribed in these
regulations, and i1f, within seven (7) days, they are either
given an official brucellosis test, or delivered to a
market, or sold to immediate slaughter.

010.02 The official brucellosis testing procedure shall be the
standard plate test.

Results of the standard plate test shall be confirmed in the
State-Federal Laboratory by the same testing procedure. Standard
plate test classifications are as follows:

Official Vaccinates All Others
1:50 1:100 1:200 1:50 1:100 1:200
- - - NEGATIVE - - - NEGATIVE
1 - - NEGATIVE 1 - - SUSPECT
+ - - NEGATIVE + - - SUSPECT
+ 1 - SUSPECT + 1 - SUSPECT
+ + - SUSPECT + + - REACTOR
+ + 1 SUSPECT + + 1 REACTOR
+ + + REACTOR + + + REACTOR

011 Swine Brucellosis.

12

011.01 Ildentification.

011.01A All slaughter sows and boars received at first
point of sale by livestock dealers shall be uniformly
identified by the farm of origin, sufficient to distinguish
such swine from other swine. The identification shall be
recorded on a waybill. Such swine shall then be
identified, by the dealer, to the farm of origin by tattoo
or other methods acceptable to the State Veterinarian. The
identification by the dealer shall be specified on the
account of sale.

011.01B Swine reacting to the brucellosis test shall be
permanently identified by an official reactor eartag placed
in the left ear within fifteen (15) days following the
disclosure of infection.

011.02 Identification Reports. All dealers responsible for
identifying swine in accordance with the provisions of

Neb. Rev. Stat. 854-1358 shall maintain adequate records of such
identification, as prescribed in the recordkeeping provisions of
these regulations.
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011.03 Official Testing.

011.03A The official tests for swine brucellosis shall be

as follows:
011.03A1
011.03A2
011.03A3

011.03A4

Card Test;
Rapid screening test;
Rivanol test; and

Any other testing procedure recognized for

use iIn the diagnosis of swine brucellosis by USDA.

011.03B Testing shall be performed by the approved
veterinarian, whenever required or authorized by the
Nebraska Swine Brucellosis Act or the regulations adopted

thereunder.

012 General. As set out In Neb. Rev. Stat. 854-1705, a dealer™s
license may be suspended or revoked for violation of any of the animal
disease control laws or regulations of the State of Nebraska.

013 Annotation. Neb. Rev. Stat. 8854-1701 to 54-1711, and 8854-701

to 54-705.
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