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NEBRASKA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE 
 
 
 
LAST DATE AMENDED:   February 14, 1983 
 
 
TITLE 27 - DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE, DIVISION OF WEIGHTS AND MEASURES 
 
Chapter 2 - WEIGHTS AND MEASURES STANDARD LABORATORY OPERATING 

PROCEDURES AND FEES 
 
 
001 Standards Laboratory Operating Procedures. 
 

001.01  Laboratory services are subject to the fees specified in 
section 002.  The charges for laboratory services are based on 
secondary standards ready for certification that do not need 
precalibration services as specified in subsection 002.08. 

 
001.02  No secondary standard shall be approved unless the design 
and construction complies with the  National Institute of 
Standards and Technology publication, Series 105, Specification 
and Tolerances for Reference Standard and Field Standard Weights 
and Measures, which by this reference, is hereby adopted and 
promulgated.  

 
001.03  All secondary standards approved shall meet the 
tolerances prescribed by the National Institute of Standards and 
Technology. 

 
001.04  Secondary standards determined unfit for approval shall 
be rejected after testing, and removed from service by the State 
Metrologist after notification to the owner and the administrator 
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of the Weights and Measures Division.  The owner of such 
secondary standard may request a hearing on the matter in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act. 

 
001.05  All secondary standards as defined by the Weights and 
Measures Act used by repair personnel shall show an indication of 
the date approved and the jurisdiction issuing the approval. 

 
001.06  All repair personnel who install, service, or repair 
weighing or measuring devices in the State of Nebraska shall 
annually submit their secondary standards to the Nebraska 
Standards Laboratory for approval.  Certificates of approval of 
secondary standards issued by another state laboratory or a 
National Voluntary Laboratory Accreditation Program laboratory 
will be accepted in lieu of submitting the secondary standards to 
the Nebraska Standards Laboratory.  Certification and 
traceability to the National Institute of Standards and 
Technology issued by the Nebraska Standards Laboratory is valid 
for a period of one year unless stated otherwise on the 
certificate.  This traceability shall remain in effect for the 
period stated unless physical damage occurs to the secondary 
standard.  If damage occurs to the secondary standard, the 
certificate shall no longer be in effect.  The Nebraska Standards 
Laboratory shall establish procedures designating time intervals 
for recertification of secondary standards. 

 
001.07  All secondary standards will be tested in the order in 
which they are received in the Nebraska Standards Laboratory 
unless arrangements for testing have been made in advance.   

 
002 Standards Laboratory Fee Schedule. 
 

002.01  Weights - Class F Tolerance Testing 
5 lbs. and under ..  ..  ....................... $ 6.25 per weight 

 Over 5 lbs. to and including 50 lbs.  ........ $ 8.50 per weight 
 Over 50 lbs. to and including 1,200 lbs. ..... $23.50 per weight 

Over 1,200 lbs.  ..  ..  ....................... $80.00 per hour 
 

002.02  Test Weight Kits - All Classes 
Tolerance or Precision Testing ............... $80.00 per hour 

 
002.03  Dry Measures or Liquid Measures 
Less than 5 gallons  .. $80.00 per hour 

 
002.04  Metal Volumetric Field Standards 
5 gallons to and including 25 gallons ........ $51.00 per unit 
Over 25 gallons .............................. $80.00 per hour 
 
002.05  Linear Measures ...................... $80.00 per hour 

 
002.06  Pressurized Volumetric Standards  .... $80.00 per hour 
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 002.07  Pressure Standards and Gauges  ....... $80.00 per hour 
 

002.08  Pre-Calibration Services.  Any standard requiring 
adjustment and retesting, cleaning, painting, or other pre-
calibration services will be charged at a rate of $80.00 per hour 
plus costs of materials, in addition to the fees set forth in 
subsections 002.01 through 002.08.   

 
002.09  The cost for laboratory services not included in 
subsections 002.01 through 002.08 shall be $80.00 per hour. 

 
003  Definitions. 
 

003.01  Secondary standards shall mean the physical standards 
which are traceable to the primary standards through comparisons 
using acceptable laboratory procedures.  Such standards shall be 
used in the sale of a commodity or in the verification of weights 
and measures or weighing and measuring devices for accuracy. 

 
003.02  Repair personnel shall mean any person who installs, 
services, repairs, or reconditions a commercial weighing and 
measuring device. 

 
004  Publication Adopted.  National Institute of Standards and 
Technology publication Series 105, Specification and Tolerances 
for Reference Standard and Field Standard Weights and Measures. 
 
005  Annotation.  Neb. Rev. Stat. §§89-183 to 89-1,103 (Reissue 1994 
and Supp. 1997). 
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